Showing posts from September, 2010

New ABBA Gold Cd/DVD

ABBA-ABBA Gold CD/DVD Special Edition , Universal 060252752259  November 29, 2010

Yet another version of ABBA's most popular album.  The CD features the latest remastered version of the album, while the DVD features newly remastered versions of all the video clips featured on the original DVD.

The DVD includes five  bonus selections in the shape of "before-and-after" split-screen comparisons of five original film clips and the remastered versions of those clips. The new DVD also features a recently discovered archive find: a cartoon version of 'Money, Money, Money', made circa 1977. (I have never seen  this particular cartoon version). ABBA Gold Special Edition also features a brand new essay on the album by Elisabeth Vincentelli, author of the books ABBA Gold and ABBA Treasures.
The ABBA Gold CD/DVD Special Edition will be released in a so-called flip-tray with a slip case.

Track listing:

1. Dancing Queen
2. Knowing Me, Knowing You
3. Take A Chance On Me

New Frida song !

Georg Wadenius (and friends) –Reconnection,  EMI-50999 -9190442,   Swedish CD, October 27, 2010

This is a new album "Reconnection" by Swedish musician Georg "Jojje" Wadenius. The album features guest singers Nina Persson, Helen Sjöholm, Peter Jöback and Frida. Thomas Johansson, ABBA’s tour promoter, had the idea for bringing Georg together with guest singers on seven of the tracks.  Frida leads the album off with an excellent if somewhat aging  vocal on the song "Morning Has Broken", the Christian  hymn made popular by Cat Stevens. Nina Persson of the Cardigans performs "Brothers In Arms" which was originally done by Dire Straits. Helen Sjohom sings "Sometimes" . Georg also worked on Anne Sofie von Otter's  'I Let The Music Speak', as Guitarist, Arranger and Producer.    Georg  is known for playing with Blood, Sweat and Tears, the SNL band, Steely Dan and many other things.

1. Morning Has Broken   2. Until We Bleed 3. Bro…

New releases:Kerry Ellis, ABBA-Icons, Brazilian ABBA DVD

Kerry Ellis - Anthems, Decca, International CD September 13, 2010

The new CD "Anthems" by Kerry Ellis. Produced by Queen guitarist Brian May, the album includes "Anthem" from Chess and "You Have To Be There" from Kristina plus more musical numbers and other symphonic rock songs.The album also features new compositions by Brian May.
Kerry played Svetlana in Chess In Concert at the Royal Albert Hall opposite Josh Groban .She has performed in Les Misérables, Miss Saigon, Oliver, Wicked and We Will rock You. Kerry also sang at the BBC Radio 2 ABBA concert -Thank You For The Music in Hyde Park.Youtube has a TV appearance by Kerry Ellis and Brian May performing "Anthem"!

1. Dangerland
2. Anthem (Chess)
3. I Can’t Be Your Friend (This Can’t Be Over)
4. Defying Gravity (Wicked)
5. I’m Not That Girl (Wicked)
6. You Have To Be There (Kristina)
7. Love It When You Call
8. Save Me
9. Diamonds Are Forever
10. No-One But You (Only The Good Die Young) (We Will Rock You…

Chess again and again!!

Fall 2010: Apparently the Andersson-Rice- Ulvaeus musical Chess has two revivals on tap at the same time.  In England, Craig Revel Horwood has reinvented the original West End version, and given it  a lot more sexual energy, He managed to successfully stage the  games  aspects of musical, and most notably has many of the actors playing the music, which makes for great visuals.The only thing I didn't like from the videos shown of this staging was the music itself which seemed nothing special.   The Horwood variation is actually a touring road show of the musical. 

Over on the other side of the Atlantic at the Signature Theater  in Washington, the Broadway version of Chess has been redone by Director Eric Schaeffer with a little help from  the original Broadway Chess book writer Richard Nelson. It is a shorter leaner production.  It ran through October 2010.

Oddly enough both shows have gotten good reviews with the Horwood variation getting unusually good notices

Update October 4,…