Showing posts from January, 2012

The Visitors Deluxe with never before released ABBA track! (Updated)

 ABBA-The Visitors (Deluxe Edition), Universal Music CD/DVD International release April 23, 2012  

For once, ABBA's record label, Universal,  actually has managed to  surprised us. Universal  Music's  press release about a "new" ABBA song has drawn a considerable attention on world news Websites, much more attention than other recent reissues  have gotten, indeed, probably more attention than it should have gotten.
The deluxe edition of The Visitors will be released in April of 2012 and it will include "From A Twinkling Star To A Passing Angel (demos)" a  recording which has never  been released before. The press release originally did not state exactly what these unreleased demos consist of-but a week later Benny Andersson confirmed that it was merely work  tapes for the released  track, "Like An Angel Passing Through My Room". When, the song was originally recorded it was more  complex, and early  mixes were made of the…

Elmar Kivaste (1965-2009)

I stumbled across the news that Elmar died,  "Elmar" was Elmar Kivaste,  the Estonian webmaster of Elmar's ABBA site.   Elmar died more than two years ago in the July  2009. He was 44 years old. Sadly,  I never "met" him, I am pretty shy when comes to meeting people on the web, but I always admired his website, which has pictures and track listings for most ABBA related recordings. In particular, his site has the best coverage  of Swedish releases of 1960's and 1970's. If I  wanted to see a picture of an original LP by Lena Andersson, or an obscure Hootenanny Singers release his site is  where I would  go first.    For some reason, after  he died the site's  internal linking mechanisms didn't work very well, but that problem appears to have been corrected.   My condolences to Elmar's family and friends in Tartu. Here is the site address for Elmar's ABBA site . Much of the text of the site is written in Estonian…

Abba Arrival book form ECOPAK

ABBA-Arrival, (Bookform) eco- package) UK/Netherlands, November 3, 2011

A one off reissue of just this album in book form-similar to the 2001 ABBA Arrival reissue.
This is fairly obscure reissue, I saw mention of it on ABBA Omnibus blog, and on
the AgnethAnnifrid-ABBA blog has a picture of CD. The blog says it is part of a reissue series that includes Michael Jackson's Thriller and Fleetwood Mac's Rumours. You obtain this release from ABBF Record Service..

Track listing
1. When I Kissed The Teacher
2. Dancing Queen
3. My Love, My Life
4. Dum Dum Diddle
5. Knowing Me, Knowing You
6. Money, Money, Money
7. That's Me
8. Why Did It Have To Be Me
9. Tiger
10. Arrival
11. Fernando
12. Happy Hawaii