First released version of "The Day the Wall Came Tumbling Down"

Anne Wood-Divine Discontent, 2012 Australian CD and I tunes release.

This is a new album of mostly ABBA cover songs by Anne Wood who starred in Australian version of Mamma Mia.    She played Donna in two stints in 2001 and 2010.
Of interest to Bjorn and Benny fans is the first released version of "The Day the Wall Came Tumbling Down", which was originally written to be recorded as a duet by Barbara Dickson and supposedly Elaine Paige. The original version was never released. .But a unreleased version with just  Dickson   can be heard in a 2002  live performance that is available  onYou tube.   The song is about the fall of the Berlin Wall, and while a  very interesting  song-it is perhaps not quite as good as they Bjorn  and Benny hoped it would be. After all, the first duet between them had been a number one Song (I Know Him So Well) and so maybe they didn't want people to compare between the two. The Dickson version  can be heard in a 2002  live performance made  on You tube (seen below) 

1. S.O.S.
2. The Day Before You Came
3. Knowing Me, Knowing You
4. I Wonder (Departure)
5. Dance (While the Music Still Goes On)
6. Money, Money, Money
7. Like An Angel Passing Through My Room
8. The Winner Takes It All
9. When All Is Said And Done
10. I Have A Dream/Slipping Through My Fingers
11. The Day The Wall Came Tumbling Down 

Source:ABBA intermezzo.


Popular posts from this blog

Deluxe editions of ABBA recordings updated July 2017

2017 ABBA releases