Polar Music Prize 2012

Cellist Yo-Yo Ma and  Paul Simon have  been chosen to be the recipients of  the 2012 Polar Music Prize, Sweden’s most prestigious award for musicians. The prizes were  awarded in StockholmTuesday,  Aug. 28.
The award was founded by the late Stig Anderson, ABBA's manager, and has been handed out since 1992. It is typically shared by a pop artist and a classical musician. Stig originally wanted  to give  money to provide for a Nobel music prize , but the Nobel people rejected that idea.

To learn more about the prize visit their excellent website Polar Music Prize

Previous winners include Pink Floyd, Sir Paul McCartney, BB King,  Bruce Springsteen, Stevie Wonder, Elton John, Ennio Morricone and Bob Dylan, among others.
The prize is awarded by  King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden. Usually, Frida attends the ceremonies, though the other members of ABBA never have (correct me if I am wrong about that).


Popular posts from this blog

Deluxe editions of ABBA recordings updated July 2017

ABBA Record Store Day 2018 Summer Night City colored viny disc.