Benny's new Christmas album....

Benny Andersson Orkester-Tomte Har akt Hem, Mono MMCD029,  Swedish release November  19, 2012. 

 Benny Andersson's Orkester has released it's first  Christmas album... The album is  called "Tomten Har akt hem (Santa has come home).  . The album is also available as part of BAO in a Box.

There are four new compositions  on the album.
"Vinterhamn" (sung by Helen Sjoholm) was released as the first single from the album .That song has been well received.  "Vinterhamn" and the title track are the two Andersson-Ulvaeus compositions from the album. Benny wrote two new new instrumentals -" Julvals" and "Tomtestomp"  The remaining Benny Andersson instrumental composition  , "Trettondagspolkan",  appears  to be a rerun from the 2004 BAO! album. Some of the remaining songs are from the Swedish  Christmas music repertoire.   At least a couple of Christmas songs have been recorded by other ABBA solo acts. 

Track listing follows...

1.Marsch Militaire (Franz Schubert)  3.34 /2. Tomten har åkt hem ( (Andersson-Ulvaeus) 3.18 / 3.Julvals (Benny Andersson) 3.24 / 4.Tomtestomp(Benny Andersson) 3.25  /5. Knalle Juls vals (Evert Taube) 3.28
/6. Tomtarnas vaktparad  (Kurt Noack) 4.38  /7. Vinterhamn (Andersson-Ulvaeus) 3.46  /8. Mössens julafton (När nätterna blir
långa) (Alf Proysen) 2.44 / 9.Trettondagspolkan (Benny Andersson) 3.07   /10. Julpotpurri (Medley with various writers)  3.36 / 11.Nu tändas tusen juleljus (Emmy Kohler) 2.21
In unrelated event, Benny also performed a   new 11 minute song  called  "En skrift i snön    . Benny performed  it the Pitea Organ Symposium & Festival to celebrate the new organ there.  The lyrics for that song were written by Kristina Lugn. It wasn't included on the christmas  album. It hasn't been released yet..


ABBA's 1975 studio album available now in Deluxe version...

The deluxe version of the ABBA album has come out. This third studio album was the album that proved that ABBA were not one hit wonders. Recorded in 1974 and 1975, it was a major jump in quality from their first two albums. It's still a very good listen, and one of my personal favorites.... T

On September 12, 2012, ABBA the site had reported that the April 1975 self-named ABBA studio album will be released as a deluxe album, in November 2012 in  time for Christmas market.   No unreleased stuff, and for this album there was always very little in the way of interesting bonus tracks, so anything of interest was to be found on the DVD in the form of two TV specials (ABBA in Australia and Made in Sweden). The most notable song left off was the full version of Rikki Rock'n'Roller, which was never going to see the light of day anyway.   With the release of the deluxe version of this album, only Ring Ring is left to release in some kind of special version. The version of the  folk medley is the original mix made for a charity album in 1975. and not the later more compressed mix for the 1977 B-side. The liner notes  booklet includes new insights gleaned from recent interviews by Carl Magnus Palm. Palm interviewed Bjorn, Benny, and Glen Studios owner- Bruno Glen. The original cover featured a different font for the title....But the Reversed B logo has been used on all recent reissues of this album.

1.  Mamma Mia
2.  Hey, Hey Helen
3.  Tropical Loveland
4.  SOS
5.  Man In The Middle
6.  Bang-A-Boomerang
7.  I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do
8.  Rock Me
9.  Intermezzo no 1
10.  I’ve Been Waiting For You
11.  So Long
Bonus Tracks:
12.  Crazy World
13.  Medley: Pick A Bale Of Cotton – On Top Of Old Smokey – Midnight Special
14.  Mamma Mia (Spanish Version recorded 1980) 
1. ABBA In Australia (Television Special)
Mamma Mia
Hasta Mañana
Ring Ring
Tropical Loveland
I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do
Rock me
Dancing Queen
Honey, Honey
So Long
2. Made In Sweden – For Export (SVT)
Mamma Mia
I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do, I Do
So Long
3. SOS (Seaside Special, BBC)
4. Mamma Mia (Top Of The Pops, BBC)
5. The Best Of ABBA, TV Commercial
6. Greatest Hits, TV Commercial
7. International Sleeve Gallery