ABBA-Live at Wembley

Our 100th post here at ABBA-Latest Releases!

ABBA-ABBA-Live At Wembley  2CD (or3 Vinyl LP) set  September  24, 2014.

It is official this will be released. From the press release-"In September 2014, Polar Music will release ABBA LIVE AT WEMBLEY ARENA (a whole evening with ABBA)! "

The 2 x CD or 3 x LP will be released world wide! It includes two previously  unreleased songs "I'm Still Alive" and "Gammal Fäbodpsalm"

This  release has been prepared by Benny's son-Ludwig Andersson. It is said that he  tried to present the songs in "worts and all"  versions here, as opposed to the buffed up versions found on the ABBA Live album.

There are two "new" songs available here.  "I'm Still Alive" is a melodramatic  1979  song (that was never released elsewhere ) with  music by Agnetha and so-so  lyrics by Bjorn." "Gammal Fäbodpsalm"is a instrumental cover of a Swedish  pastoral hymn written by  Swedish composer Oskar Lindberg . It was used as the  opening overture for the concerts. Neither are great songs, but it's good to see them finally see official release. 

"I"m Still Alive" is the only ABBA song to not feature a writing credit for Benny Andersson.  The  recording of "Not Bad At All" by Tomas Ledin  and the ABBA backing band which also performed at the shows was not included. (that's no great loss.) Many of these songs have been released in similar  live  versions on ABBA's Live album or on the ABBA In Concert DVD. The ABBA Live album is to be avoided. 

 ABBA appeared at London's  Wembley Arena (as opposed to Wembley Stadium which they could have probably filled as well) in  November 1979.  This album apparently is drawn from the November 10th show. Ludvig listened to all the shows and decided that was the best one. He didn't cherry pick the best performances from different shows.   ABBA's  1979-1980 tour was their last concert tour.  

See abbaofficial" on Instagram, for more info.

Official Track listing:

 CD1( LP sides 1,2,and 3)
 1. Gammal fäbodpsalm (never released before)
2. Voulez-Vous
3. If It Wasn’t For The Nights
4. As Good As New
5. Knowing Me, Knowing You
6. Rock Me
7. Chiquitita
8. Money, Money, Money
9. I Have A Dream
10. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight)
11. SOS
12. Fernando
13. The Name Of The Game

CD 2 (LP Sides 4-5-6)
1. Eagle
2. Thank You For The Music
3. Why Did It Have To Be Me
4. Intermezzo No 1
5. I’m Still Alive (never released before)
6. Summer Night City
7. Take A Chance On Me
8. Does Your Mother Know
9. Hole In Your Soul
10. The Way Old Friends Do
11.. Dancing Queen
12. Waterloo


Popular posts from this blog

Deluxe editions of ABBA recordings updated July 2017

ABBA Record Store Day 2018 Summer Night City colored viny disc.